International Baccalaureate Diploma

In order to provide all our students with a stimulating and creative curriculum, we offer the choice of studying the International Baccalaureate Diploma (IB) or A Levels in the Sixth Form.

The ethos of the IB, with its broad curriculum and emphasis on study skills, community service and internationalism fits well with our Quaker values. Students study six subjects: three at higher level and three at standard level, with the organisation of subject choices ensuring that they maintain a breadth of study across English, Mathematics, Science, Humanities, Languages and Arts. 

As well as academic skills, IB students are asked to demonstrate initiative, independence and organisation. They study the Theory of Knowledge and are asked to reflect upon both their academic subjects and their personal development. Creativity Action Service, where students participate in creative, physical and service activities in the local community is also a key element of the programme.

The International Baccalaureate was originally launched in 1968 and now involves some 80,000 students studying in 125 countries. It is highly regarded internationally and recognised by all UK universities. Discover the 10 reasons why the IB diploma is ideal preparation for University. It is also attractive to employers because of the variety of skills and personal attributes fostered by the programme. See what the Daily Telegraph have to say about the IB.

How the IB works at Sidcot

The IB Diploma programme involves the study of subjects chosen from each of the six groups:

Group 1: Language/Literature (usually your native tongue)

Group 2: A second language (another modern language)

Group 3: Individuals and Society (Economics, Geography, History, Psychology)

Group 4: Experimental Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics)

Group 5: Mathematics (Applications & Interpretations)

Group 6: The Arts (Visual Arts, Music, Theatre Studies)

There is a wide choice of subjects on offer and students select three to be studied at Higher Level and three at Standard Level.

IB subjects offered

Students choose one subject from each group, three at Higher and three at Standard Level. However, it is possible to opt not to take a Group 6 subject but instead take another subject from Groups 2 to 4 subject to availability.

Sidcot is able to offer the following courses from which students must choose.

Group 1

  • English A Higher and Standard Level
  • German A Higher and Standard Level
  • Italian A Higher and Standard Level

Group 2

  • German B Higher and Standard Level
  • French B Higher and Standard Level
  • Spanish B Higher and Standard Level
  • Spanish ab initio Standard Level (Beginners)
  • Italian ab initio Standard Level (Beginners)

Group 3

  • Economics Higher and Standard Level
  • History Higher and Standard Level
  • Geography Higher and Standard Level
  • Psychology Higher and Standard Level

Group 4

  • Biology Higher and Standard Level
  • Chemistry Higher and Standard Level
  • Physics Higher and Standard Level

Group 5

  • Maths Higher Level and Standard Level

Group 6

  • Visual Arts Higher and Standard Level
  • Music Higher and Standard Level
  • Theatre Studies Higher and Standard Level

It is possible that a course might not attract sufficient interest and if this is the case then it may have to be withdrawn. We will advise students if this decision has to be taken.

The Points System

Each subject examined is graded on a scale of 1(lowest) to 7 (highest). The maximum for all six subjects is 42 points. There are up to 3 extra points for both the Theory of Knowledge (essay and presentation) and the extended essay making a total of 45 points. To obtain a Diploma, students will normally have to achieve a score of 24 points and have successfully completed all components of the programme.