The International Baccalaureate Diploma

In order to provide all our students with a stimulating and creative curriculum, we offer the choice of studying the International Baccalaureate Diploma (IB) or A Levels in the Sixth Form.

The ethos of the IB, with its broad curriculum and emphasis on study skills, community service and internationalism fits well with our Quaker values. Students study six subjects: three at higher level and three at standard level, with the organisation of subject choices ensuring that they maintain a breadth of study across English, Mathematics, Science, Humanities, Languages and Arts. 

As well as academic skills, IB students are asked to demonstrate initiative, independence and organisation. They study the Theory of Knowledge and are asked to reflect upon both their academic subjects and their personal development. Creativity Action Service, where students participate in creative, physical and service activities in the local community is also a key element of the programme.

The International Baccalaureate was originally launched in 1968 and now involves some 80,000 students studying in 125 countries. It is highly regarded internationally and recognised by all UK universities and also attractive to employers because of the variety of skills and personal attributes fostered by the programme. See what the Daily Telegraph have to say about the IB.

How the IB works at Sidcot

The IB Diploma programme involves the study of subjects chosen from each of the six groups:

Group 1: Language/Literature (usually your native tongue)

Group 2: A second language (another modern language)

Group 3: Individuals and Society (Economics, Geography, History, Psychology)

Group 4: Experimental Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics)

Group 5: Mathematics (Applications & Interpretations)

Group 6: The Arts (Visual Arts, Music, Theatre Studies)

There is a wide choice of subjects on offer and students select three to be studied at Higher Level and three at Standard Level.

The Points System

Each subject examined is graded on a scale of 1(lowest) to 7 (highest). The maximum for all six subjects is 42 points. There are up to 3 extra points for both the Theory of Knowledge (essay and presentation) and the extended essay making a total of 45 points. To obtain a Diploma, students will normally have to achieve a score of 24 points and have successfully completed all components of the programme.